5 Oct 2016

Navratri Puja and Navratri Dates 2016

Navratri means ‘Nine Auspicious Nights’.  The Navratri occur twice in a year. The first is at the onset of the Vikrama era, the Hindu's calendar followed in north India, in the month of Chaitra from the first tithi or day of the Shukla paksha of the month up to Navami, the ninth day. The second occurrence comes exactly six months later, just before the winter, thus the two Navratri fall at the time of the turning of seasons when the sun’s rays are mild and soft, and they cannot much distort the thought energy. Spiritual practice during the Navratri, when sincerely carried out, reach the desired destination faster. 


During the period of nine nights, different forms of Goddess Durga, the cosmic female energy, is worshiped. Maa Durga, as consider the ‘Shakti’ of all the Gods, including the trinity of Brahma, Vishnu, and Maheshwar. The Devi is beautiful, bountiful, terrifying, compassionate and ruthlessly righteous. She is Durga and Kali in Bengal, Ambika, and Bhadrakali in Gujrat, Vaishnodevi in Jammu and Kashmir, Chamunda in Karnataka, Santoshi Maa, and Bhavani in Maharashtra and Kamakhya in Assam. For Hindus, she is ‘Maa’ the mother of the universe.


The Holy verses of the Devi Mahatmyam also called Durga Saptashati of Markandeya Purana, is recited daily during the Navratris. The mantras invoking Maa Durga are repeated using a Haldi mala or turmeric garland. She is hailed as the very origin of all the worlds. It's believed that Maa as the originator of the world all the required three Gunas of Satva, Rajas, and Tamas symbolic of purity, passion, and inertia. The ancient Indian social scientists – the rishis and munis held certain nights of the year to be more conducive for practicing spiritual sadhanas as compared to days. Some of these special nights are Shivratri, Diwali, and Holi. These nights and the nine nights of Navratri are very special for spiritual growth and also for carrying out the black magic.


These nights and Navratri are considering the very special because they fall during the time when the astrological and astronomical position of our country in the Milky Way is such that it allows our prayers and sadhanas to reach astral regions faster and without being distorted. Modern science also acknowledges that tall human thoughts have electromagnetic energy. After sunset and during night, nature releases our thought energy into the astral region and it returns duly charged around dawn. During the day, due to the sun’s rays out thought energy cannot rise high enough into the atmosphere, hence nights are more suited. During the Navratri, however, out thoughts rise higher into the astral world as compared to other nights.


Navratris have another aspect that makes the significant. It is a phenomenon of nature that when the season changes, the inner chemistry of the human beings also changes. Observing fast during these periods keeps one healthy. The Navratri provide people a religious reason to observe fast which helps one to gain at two levels, one at the physical level and the other at the subtle spiritual level.

Must Read: Karwa Chauth

In the context of modern world the prayers to Goddess and celebrate the days to consider the girls as Goddess is more important. It evokes morals to the society to respect and care of womanhood. These festivals made by our ancients by deep thoughts, how to keep the harmony in society through rituals to the benefit of socially, spiritually, physically and mental health. So, let celebrate the motherhood, the origin of the world and respect the womanhood. Jai Maa!

Navratri Date 2016

Day 1 - October 1, 2016 (Saturday) - Pratipada, Ghatsthapana, Shailputri Puja

Day 2 - October 2, 2016 (Sunday) - Pratipada, Chandra Darshan, Shailputri Puja

Day 3 (Dwitiya) - October 3, 2016 (Monday) - Brahmacharini Puja

Day 4 (Tritiya) - October 4, 2016 (Tuesday) - Chandraghanta Puja

Day 5 (Chaturthi) - October 5, 2016 (Wednesday) - Kushmanda puja

Day 6 (Panchami) - October 6, 2016 (Thursday) - Skandamata Puja

Day 7 (Shashthi) - October 7, 2016 (Friday) - Katyayani Puja

Day 8 (Saptami) - October 8, 2016 (Saturday) - Kalaratri Puja

Day 9 (Mahashtmi) - October 9, 2016 (Sunday) - Mahagauri Puja, Durga Maha Ashtami Puja, Saraswati Puja

Day 10 (Navami) - October 10, 2016 (Monday) - Siddhidatri Pooja, Maha Navami, Ayudha Puja, Navami Homa